NSW Liberal MP Matt Kean has kept his job as energy minister and treasurer but lost the environment portfolio under NSW premier Dominic Perrottet’s cabinet shuffle.

The energy and environment portfolios have been separated, however, with the environment portfolio going to James Griffin, member for Manly and former parliamentary secretary for Health and Veterans. He’s one of six MPs to be appointed to cabinet for the first time.

Kean has thrown his support behind renewable energy despite years of his federal colleagues in the Liberal Party harmfully politicising climate change and the clean energy transition.

Under his watch, he’s introduced a $32 billion plan to drive private investment into renewables to transition the state away from coal-fired power. By 2030, the state hopes to deliver 12GW of renewable generation and 2GW of long duration storage.

The plan has included earmarking certain regions for Renewable Energy Zones, with the Central-West Orana zone the first to get an official green light.