The finalists in the Clean Energy Council’s 2019 Solar Design and Installation Awards have been announced, with 10 installations competing for three categories: under 30kW, 30-240kW and over 240kW.

Good luck, everyone! The winners will be announced on October 23 at All-Energy in Melbourne. See you there.

Under 30kW

Joshua Axford for a 100-panel residential system across two buildings that enabled the customer to reduce their electricity bill by over 90%.
Johnson Lee for a vertically mounted system with battery backup on Sydney’s award-winning Welcome to the Jungle house.
Scott Hansen and William Andersson for a 25kW three-phase off-grid solar PV system that saved the customer more than $80,000 in grid-connection costs.
Nigel Phillips for a solar PV system in the shape of two crosses on St Anthony’s Catholic Church in Harristown, Queensland.


Christopher Geary and Christopher Betland for a 33kW commercial solar system and 39 separate 3.3kW systems on an apartment complex in Coffs Habour.
Rohan Preston and Lachlan Bateman for using adhesive feet to mount a 98kW system on Melbourne’s Highpoint Shopping Centre without damaging the roof.
Jamie Thorncraft and Natalie Collins for a 87kW solar PV system that powers Australia’s first rooftop indigenous garden at the Australian Technology Park in Sydney.

Over 240kW

Luke Butterworth and Matthias Huchel for designing and installing a 1.74MW PV system on Brisbane Airport’s international terminal.
Christopher Hackett and Dimitar Liev for a 638kW solar PV system on the roof of the cafeteria and Crocoseum at Australia Zoo.
Matthew Linney and John Gough for a 1MW solar PV carpark shading system at the Sunshine Plaza shopping centre in Maroochydore, Queensland.