A diverse mix of sporting clubs, churches and other community-led hubs in the South Australian towns of Playford and Salisbury will receive $300,000 to install PV panels on their buildings, under round two of the Federal Government’s Solar Towns Program.


Together, the 17 projects will have a combined capacity of 320 kW.

The Solar Town Program is part of the Federal Government’s efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and offers an opportunity for communities to engage with renewables

Below are the 17 community groups that will be taking part in the program:

The Salvation Army (South Australia) Property Trust – 30 kW solar system

Parafield Gardens Community Club – 30 kW solar system

Dutch Social and Welfare Club – 30 kW solar system

Royal Society for The Blind of South Australia – 20 kW solar system

Para Hills Community Club – 20.8 kW solar system

Greek Macedonian Social Club Florina – 18 kW solar system

The Gardens Community Church – 18 kW solar system

Salisbury Lutheran Church – 18 kW solar system

C3 Church Salisbury – 18 kW solar system

South Australia Poultry Association – 18 kW solar system

Elizabeth Grove Soccer and Sports Club – 18 kW solar system

Pooraka Football Club – 18 kW solar system

Elizabeth Navy Club – 18 kW solar system

Angle Vale Scout Group – 18 kW solar system

Faithworks Ministries – 10 kW solar system

St Vincent De Paul Society (SA) – 10 kW solar system

Munno Para Little Athletics Centre – 10 kW solar system


Applications for round two of the Solar Towns Program closed in October 2015. The Federal Environment Department is currently finalising contracts with the successful community groups for the delivery of these projects.

Small-scale community and household solar has proven to be important part of the Australian renewable energy mix. Over 1.4 million households, small businesses and community organisations across Australia have installed solar panels, with more than 900,000 investing in solar hot water systems.